COMPARE // HEYGEN
HeyGen pricing, HeyGen alternatives, HeyGen cost and HeyGen credits: what a 30 second AI UGC ad really costs
HeyGen is an AI video generator built around synthetic presenters. You write a script, pick an avatar and a voice, and it renders a person delivering your words, in 175 languages, with lip sync that holds up in a feed. It is the largest and best funded product in this category, and unlike most of its rivals it puts every plan price on a public page.
So the useful question is not whether HeyGen publishes a price. It does. The useful question is what that price buys per finished ad, and there the published number is only half the story, because HeyGen meters in credits and a credit is worth wildly different amounts depending on which avatar engine you click.
We pulled every figure on this page from heygen.com on 26 August 2026 and worked the arithmetic through to a cost per thirty second ad, which is the unit an advertiser actually budgets in. The result is genuinely surprising, and it runs in HeyGen's favor by a wide margin: on the Creator plan a thirty second ad on the premium Avatar IV engine costs between 39 and 75 cents of credit depending on the look, against $3.90 for the same thirty seconds on Creatify's entry plan. The two tools bill a similar number of credits for that ad. The credits cost about eight times more at one of them.
That is worth understanding before you compare any two prices in this market, because it proves the thing that makes AI video pricing so hard to read: a credit is not a unit. It is a private currency, and every vendor mints its own at a different rate.
The rest of this page is the arithmetic, an honest account of what HeyGen does not include for that money, and where UGCMarketplace sits, which is not in competition with it. We generate briefs and scripts. HeyGen renders video. Those are different purchases and we will keep saying so.
AI-written // yours to use // about a minute
- Persona
- Format
- Length
- Includes
- Hook, scenes, CTA
Example output. Personas are illustrative, not accounts in a directory
Generate a briefThe short answer
Last updated August 2026
HeyGen publishes its prices, which already puts it ahead of most of this category. Checked on heygen.com/pricing on 26 August 2026: Free is $0 for 3 videos a month with a watermark, Creator is $29 a month ($24 on annual billing) for 600 credits, Pro is $49 for 1,000 credits, and Business is $149 plus $20 a seat for 1,500 credits. The number that actually decides your cost is not the plan, it is the avatar engine, and the spread is enormous. Rechecked on 30 August 2026, HeyGen's credit rates run from 4 credits a minute on an Avatar III video look to 48 on Avatar V, a twelvefold swing on one dropdown. A 30 second ad is therefore 2 credits or 24 credits, which is about 10 cents or $1.16 on the Creator plan. That makes HeyGen the cheapest published route to an AI presenter in this category, around eight times cheaper per credit than Creatify. The catch is what you are buying: HeyGen sells avatar video, not a finished ad, so the B-roll, product shots, captions and edit are your job. UGCMarketplace is not an alternative to HeyGen. We write the brief and the scene-by-scene script that HeyGen, Creatify and Arcads all take as an input.
HeyGen is an AI avatar video generator: you supply a script, choose a stock or custom avatar and a voice, and it renders a synthetic presenter performing it, with 4K export on the higher plans and video translation into 175 languages. It publishes Free, $29, $49 and $149 plans plus a pay as you go API from $5. UGCMarketplace does not render video and is not a substitute for it. We are the step before: describe your product and we write the UGC brief, the scene-by-scene script with the first three seconds written out as spoken words, the technical spec and a profile of the creator to recruit. The first brief is free with no account, then $29 a month on Pro or $79 on Studio. Every HeyGen customer arrives with a script, and that script is the whole of what we make.
Side by side
HeyGen vs UGCMarketplace, honestly
A fair look at what each does well, including the things they do that we do not. We write the brief; some of these actually supply the creator.
| What matters | UGCMarketplace | HeyGen |
|---|---|---|
| What you are buying | A written UGC brief and a scene-by-scene video script for your product. Words, not footage | Rendered video: a synthetic avatar performing a script you supply, exported as a file |
| Published pricing | Yes. First brief free with no account, Pro $29 a month, Studio $79 a month | Yes. Free, Creator $29, Pro $49, Business $149 plus $20 a seat, Enterprise on request |
| What the plan meters | Briefs and scripts generated | Credits. 600 on Creator, 1,000 on Pro, 1,500 on Business |
| Cost of a 30 second ad | Included in the plan. A brief and script are flat rate, not metered by length | On the Creator plan, about 10 cents on an Avatar III video look, 39 cents on Avatar IV photo, 75 cents on Avatar IV video and $1.16 on Avatar V |
| Price per credit as you scale up | Not applicable | Rises across the named plans ($0.048 Creator, $0.049 Pro, $0.099 Business), then falls on the Pro slider, which reaches $0.043 at 100,000 credits for $4,300 |
| Free tier | First brief free, no account needed. Free account gives 3 briefs a month, watermarked | 3 videos a month, 1 minute maximum, watermarked, no credit card required |
| Who appears on camera | Nobody. We supply no footage. The brief describes the real creator to recruit | A stock or custom digital twin. No real person is filmed for the ad |
| Credit rollover | Not applicable | Monthly credits roll over one extra month. Annual credits accumulate to the renewal date. Nothing survives cancellation |
| Ad specific tooling | The brief is written for paid social: hook, demo beats, disclosure wording, shot list | None. HeyGen is a video studio, not an ad platform. No ad templates, no ad launcher, no competitor library |
| Who assembles the finished ad | You or your creator, working from our shot list | You. HeyGen gives you the presenter. B-roll, product shots, captions and the edit are yours |
| API | No public API | Yes. Pay as you go from $5, plus an Enterprise tier with reduced rates |
| Best for | Briefing a real creator, or writing the script you are about to feed into an AI video tool | Cheap synthetic presenter footage at volume, and multi-language versions of the same video |
Comparison reflects general, publicly understood positioning. Capabilities change, so check each product for the latest.
In depth
What to know before you switch
How much does HeyGen cost?
HeyGen publishes four public prices and one on request. Everything below came off heygen.com/pricing on 26 August 2026.
| Plan | Monthly | Yearly, per month | Credits a month | Max video length | Export | Watermark |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | Not stated. Capped at 3 videos a month | 1 minute | Up to 1080p | Yes |
| Creator | $29 | $24 | 600 | 30 minutes | Up to 1080p | Removed |
| Pro | $49 | About $40.83 on the yearly toggle | 1,000 | 30 minutes | Up to 4K | Removed |
| Business | $149 plus $20 a seat | About $123.83 on the yearly toggle | 1,500 | 60 minutes | Up to 4K | Removed |
| Enterprise | Contact sales | Contact sales | Flexible allocation | No maximum | Up to 4K | Removed |
Two things in that table are worth pausing on.
The first is the free plan, which is the most generous evaluation tier in this category by a distance. Three finished videos a month, up to a minute each, with access to Avatar IV, no credit card, and one custom digital twin included. Creatify's free plan gives you ten credits, which is two fifteen second clips. If you want to judge whether synthetic presenters clear your quality bar before spending anything, HeyGen is where to do it.
The second is the per credit price as you move up the plans, which goes the wrong way. Creator is $29 for 600 credits, so about 4.8 cents a credit. Pro is $49 for 1,000, so 4.9 cents. Business is $149 for 1,500, so 9.9 cents, more than double Creator. Business is not a volume discount and is not sold as one. You are buying seats, single sign on, twice the concurrency, five custom digital twins and centralized billing. If what you need is more credits rather than more governance, Pro plus top ups is the cheaper shape, and HeyGen also sells a customizable monthly usage option on Pro.
How many credits does a HeyGen video use?
This is the number that decides your real cost, and it moved. When we first wrote this page HeyGen published its credit rates in the FAQ on the pricing page itself. Rechecked on 30 August 2026, that page now says only that consumption "can vary based on which AI model is used, video duration, and the complexity of the generation", and the actual rates have moved into the help center. They are still published, which is more than most of this category manages, but they are one search further away than they were. Consumption depends on which engine renders the video and which look you pick, not on the plan you are on.
| What you generate | Credit rate | Credits for 30 seconds | Cost of 30 seconds on Creator |
|---|---|---|---|
| Avatar III, video look | 4 credits a minute | 2 | About 10 cents |
| Avatar III, photo look | 7 credits a minute | 3.5 | About 17 cents |
| Avatar IV, photo look | 16 credits a minute | 8 | About 39 cents |
| Avatar IV, video look | 31 credits a minute | 15.5 | About 75 cents |
| Avatar V, either look | 48 credits a minute | 24 | About $1.16 |
| Custom Expressive Motion, Avatar IV only | 40 credits a minute | 20 | About 97 cents |
| Video Agent, standard mode | 40 credits a minute | 20 | About 97 cents |
| Video Agent, Seedance mode | 120 credits a minute | 60 | About $2.90 |
| Video translation, no lip sync | 4 credits a minute | 2 | About 10 cents |
| Video translation, speed mode | 6 credits a minute | 3 | About 15 cents |
| Video translation, precision mode | 10 credits a minute | 5 | About 24 cents |
The spread across that table is twelvefold, from 4 credits a minute to 48, and every step of it is one dropdown rather than one plan. That single click is worth far more to your budget than the difference between any two plans, and it is a click most advertisers will make in the expensive direction, because Avatar IV is the engine that produces the expressive, gesture-driven delivery that reads as a person talking to camera rather than a news anchor. Note also that photo and video looks are not priced the same way in the same direction: on Avatar III the photo look is the dearer of the two, and on Avatar IV it is the cheaper.
One genuinely favorable detail worth knowing: HeyGen bills for the seconds of avatar generation rather than the full runtime of the finished video, so a thirty second ad in which the avatar appears for twelve seconds is billed as twelve seconds, not thirty. If you are cutting presenter segments into product footage, your real cost will land below every figure in this table.
Here is what that means per plan, using a thirty second ad as the unit.
| Plan | Price a month | Credits | Cost per credit | 30 second ad, Avatar IV photo look | 30 second ad, Avatar V | Avatar IV photo ads a month |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Creator, monthly | $29 | 600 | $0.048 | $0.39 | $1.16 | 75 |
| Creator, annual | $24 | 600 | $0.040 | $0.32 | $0.96 | 75 |
| Pro | $49 | 1,000 | $0.049 | $0.39 | $1.18 | 125 |
| Pro, top slider tier | $4,300 | 100,000 | $0.043 | $0.34 | $1.03 | 12,500 |
| Business | $149 plus $20 a seat | 1,500 | $0.099 | $0.79 | $2.38 | 187 |
Seventy-five premium ads a month for $29 is a real number, and of the vendors we have priced it is the cheapest published cost per AI presenter clip. Before you budget on it, read the next two sections, because that figure covers the presenter and nothing else.
The per-credit column also corrects something we said in an earlier version of this page. Across the three named plans the price per credit rises rather than falls, which is genuinely counterintuitive, but the Pro plan is a slider rather than a fixed tier, and at the top of it 100,000 credits cost $4,300, or 4.3 cents each. That is the cheapest credit HeyGen sells. So the rule is not that HeyGen never discounts volume. It is that the discount lives on the Pro slider and the named upper tiers are buying seats, concurrency and administration instead.
One more piece of HeyGen's own small print that matters for planning: unused monthly credits roll over for one additional month, annual subscribers' credits accumulate until the annual renewal date, and credits do not survive cancellation. So the practical shelf life on a monthly plan is two months, which is the same window Creatify gives.
HeyGen vs Creatify: which is cheaper?
On credits HeyGen is cheaper by roughly eight times. On finished ads the answer depends entirely on how much assembly work you are willing to do, and the honest comparison has to say both things.
Start with the arithmetic, because it is stark. Creatify charges 5 credits per 15 seconds of video, so a thirty second ad is 10 credits. HeyGen charges 16 credits a minute on an Avatar IV photo look, so the same thirty seconds is 8 credits. Almost identical credit counts, and then the currencies diverge by a factor of eight.
| Vendor | Entry plan | Credits included | Cost per credit | Credits for a 30 second ad | Cost of that ad |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HeyGen | Creator, $29 | 600 a month | $0.048 | 8 on Avatar IV photo look, 24 on Avatar V | $0.39 to $1.16 |
| Creatify | Starter, $39 | 100 a month | $0.390 | 10, at 5 per 15 seconds | $3.90 |
| MakeUGC | Start up, $59 | 500 a month | $0.118 | Not stated on the pricing page | Not computable |
| TopView | Pro, $29 or $16 annual | 960 a year | Varies with billing | Quoted as model generations, not ads | Not computable |
| Arcads | Not published | Not published | Not published | Reported as 1 credit per video | Reported near $11 |
So a credit is not a unit. It is a private currency and each vendor mints it at its own rate, which is why comparing two plan prices in this market tells you almost nothing on its own. Always convert to a cost per finished ad before you decide anything.
Now the part that stops that gap being free money. HeyGen sells you a presenter. Creatify sells you an ad. Those are different products and the gap between them is real work.
| Part of the job | HeyGen | Creatify |
|---|---|---|
| Avatar delivering your script | Yes, and cheaply | Yes |
| Product URL to a first draft ad | No | Yes, this is its core workflow |
| Ad templates and formats | Video templates, not ad templates | 200 to 500 plus ad templates depending on plan |
| Competitor ad library | No | Yes, a tracker over 10 million plus Meta ads on Pro |
| Launching straight into Meta, TikTok or AppLovin | No | Yes, on the higher plans |
| Multi-language versions of a finished video | Yes, 175 languages, 5 credits a minute with lip sync | 75 languages |
| Who cuts in the B-roll and product shots | You | The tool drafts it, you edit |
The routing is simple once you see it that way. If you already have an editor, a creative process and a stack of product footage, and what you are short of is presenters, HeyGen is dramatically cheaper and the extra assembly costs you an hour rather than $3.42 an ad. If you are a small team that wants a paste-a-URL-get-an-ad loop and has nobody to cut video, Creatify's price is buying the workflow, not the pixels, and it is fair value for that. We looked at Creatify's full credit arithmetic, including what revisions do to the real number, in Creatify pricing.
Is HeyGen good for UGC ads?
It is good at the part it does, and there are two limits to know before you build a paid social program on it.
The first is compositional. Real UGC does not look like a person talking to a fixed camera for thirty seconds. It looks like a hook delivered in a bedroom, then hands using the product, then a close up of a label, then a reaction. HeyGen renders the talking part beautifully and does not render the rest. You still need product footage, and if you have none, an AI presenter praising a product the viewer never sees is a worse ad than a plain product demo. Budget for the b-roll or plan the ad around a screen recording, which is why app and SaaS advertisers get more out of these tools than physical product brands do.
The second is regulatory and it applies to every tool in this category, not just HeyGen. In August 2024 the FTC issued a final rule on fake reviews and testimonials, addressing testimonials that misrepresent that they are by someone who does not exist or who did not have actual experience with the product. A synthetic presenter is, by construction, someone who does not exist. That does not make these tools unusable, but it draws a line straight through their output: a product demo or a spokesperson read with a synthetic presenter is ordinary advertising, and "I used this for three weeks and here is my result" is not. The awkward part is that the second format is the one that converts. We set out the detail, with the FTC's own wording, in AI UGC testimonials and the law.
The practical consequence for most US brands is a split. Generate demo and spokesperson creative at volume, where HeyGen's sub-dollar cost an ad is close to free, and commission real creators for the testimonial and before-and-after slots that carry your best conversion rates. That split is cheaper than it sounds, because the expensive part of a real creator campaign is not the creator fee, it is the revision rounds a vague brief causes.
One more thing worth saying plainly, because HeyGen's cheapest engine invites it. Avatar III at 4 credits a minute makes a thirty second ad cost about 10 cents, and at that price the temptation is to generate hundreds. Volume is not the constraint in paid social. Distinct creative ideas are. Two hundred renders of the same weak script will lose to five renders of five good ones, and the render was never the bottleneck.
What is the best HeyGen alternative?
It depends which part of HeyGen you are trying to replace, so here is the routing rather than a single answer.
| If you are leaving HeyGen because | Look at | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You need training and onboarding video rather than ads | Synthesia | The only unmetered tier in the category, plus SCORM export and the strongest compliance set. We priced it in our Synthesia pricing breakdown |
| You want the ad built, not just the presenter | Creatify | Product URL to draft ad, ad templates, competitor tracker and direct launch into Meta and TikTok. You pay about eight times more per credit for it |
| You want the biggest published credit allowances | MakeUGC | 2,000 credits on the $149 plan and 6,000 on the $299 API plan, though it does not publish the credits per video conversion |
| You want the lowest headline subscription | TopView | $16 a month on annual billing, with the caveat that its equivalents are model generations rather than finished ads |
| You want actor quality above all and will accept a sales-free signup | Arcads | Its actor library is what its customers cite, though it publishes no price anywhere on its public site |
| A synthetic presenter is not acceptable in your category | A real creator, plus a brief | Supplements, skincare, medical and financial claims lean on a person's actual experience, which is the restricted format |
| Your bottleneck is the script, not the render | UGCMarketplace | We write the brief and the scene-by-scene script. Every tool above takes one as an input and none of them sells you one |
On the fourth row, one detail is worth carrying with you: Arcads publishes no pricing page at all, and the $110 and $220 figures in circulation come from reviewers photographing the in-app paywall after signing up. We documented what we found on its site in Arcads pricing.
And on the last row, the honest version of our own pitch. UGCMarketplace is not a HeyGen alternative and never will be, because we render nothing. What we make is the input HeyGen assumes you already have: describe your product and you get a UGC brief, a scene-by-scene script with the first three seconds written as spoken words, the technical spec, and a description of the creator to recruit if you decide you want a real one. First brief free with no account, $29 a month after that.
If you want the wider view of this market, including the marketplaces that book real people rather than render synthetic ones, we keep a maintained roundup at best UGC platforms, and we cover how the fee structures across the whole category work in UGC platform fees.
Why brands pick UGCMarketplace
What a brief generator is good for
The brief written properly
Objective, audience, tone, key messages, must-have and avoid, plus a scene-by-scene short-form script with a hook for the first three seconds. Written by AI in about a minute, and we say so.
We do not supply creators
There is no roster here and no booking. The brief describes the creator to recruit, where to look and how to approach them, and the hiring is yours to do. Saying that plainly beats implying otherwise.
Briefs you own, cheaply
Your first brief is free with no account. Pro is $29 a month and Studio $79, both unlimited with watermark-free downloads, and the briefs are yours to use commercially.
Good questions
HeyGen vs UGCMarketplace, answered
More comparisons
See how UGCMarketplace compares
Mavrck alternative
Mavrck is now Later Influence, and it still publishes no price. We publish ours.
vs Opus ClipOpus Clip alternative
Opus Clip cuts footage you already have. We write the brief for footage you do not have yet.
vs InVideoInVideo alternative
InVideo renders the video. We write the brief and the script it renders from.
vs SynthesiaSynthesia alternative
Synthesia renders the presenter. We write the script it reads.
vs ArcadsArcads alternative
Arcads generates an AI actor. We write the script a real one performs.
vs ModashModash alternative
Modash finds you creators. We write the brief you send them.
vs GRINGRIN alternative
GRIN meters AI operations by the credit. We write the brief before Gia sends the first message.
vs Social CatSocial Cat alternative
Social Cat books the collaboration. We write the brief you send into it.
vs UpfluenceUpfluence alternative
A published price, no twelve month contract, and a document you can hand to whoever films it.
vs Popular PaysPopular Pays alternative
A published price and a licensed file you own, instead of a demo call before anyone will quote you.
vs SideShiftSideShift alternative
Finished licensed videos on a brief, instead of a monthly seat fee for creator software.
vs InflueeInfluee alternative
US creators, published plans, and no monthly collaboration quota to burn through.
vs soonasoona alternative
soona and Trend.io book you a studio or a creator. We write the brief you send them.
vs BilloBillo alternative
Billo books and films the creator. We write the brief you upload when you order.
vs InsenseInsense alternative
Insense sources and books the creator. We write the brief before you spend the fee.
vs Trend.ioTrend.io alternative
Trend.io sells credit packages for filmed video. We write the brief that spends them well.
vs JoinBrandsJoinBrands alternative
JoinBrands is the marketplace where you hire the creator. We write what you hand them.
vs Fiverr UGCFiverr UGC alternative
Fiverr sellers film to whatever brief you send. We write one worth sending.
vs CohleyCohley alternative
Cohley books you a demo. We write the brief you would bring to it.
vs AspireAspire alternative
Aspire finds you creators. We write the brief you send them.
vs minisocialminisocial alternative
minisocial delivers the cohort. We write the brief that tells them what to film.
vs TwirlTwirl alternative
Twirl films the video. We write the brief that tells them what to shoot.
vs Stack InfluenceStack Influence alternative
Stack Influence gifts product for posts. We write the brief for whatever you commission next.
vs CollabstrCollabstr alternative
Collabstr finds you the creator. We write the brief you send them.
vs Shopify CollabsShopify Collabs alternative
Collabs pays creators for sales. It does not tell them what to film. That part is the brief.
Get the UGC brief written on UGCMarketplace
Describe your product and get the brief, the hook, the scene-by-scene script and the creator persona to go and recruit. Your first one is free and needs no account.
first brief free // no account needed // yours to use // about a minute