UGC/marketplace
All articles

For brands

UGC whitelisting fees: what creators charge for Spark Ads and Partnership Ads, and why no platform prints the price

Eight UGC platforms checked on their own sites on 18 September 2026, and not one publishes what a creator charges to run ads from their handle. TikTok and Meta publish no authorization fee. The quoted 20 to 100 percent benchmarks come from blogs, two of which contradict themselves.

By the UGCMarketplace team, September 2026, 8 min read

The Casting Slate
Live preview
Brief
Platform
Creator personas to recruit
Building creator personas for your brief...
Script preview
Select a persona to preview the script the generator writes

Creator persona

First 3 seconds

On-screen text

Yours to use commercially

Format
Includes
Hook, scenes, CTA
Brief and script, written for you

We write the brief and the script. You hire the creator yourself.

Generate a brief

Short answer: of the eight UGC platforms we checked on their own sites on 18 September 2026, none publishes what a creator charges to let you run ads from their handle. Billo says each creator sets their own partnership ads fee, JoinBrands includes Spark Ads and Partnership Ads codes in every plan, and Insense only prices extra Meta connections ($125 a month for five more). TikTok and Meta publish no authorization fee at all. The percentages you see quoted, from 20 to 100 percent of the video fee, come from blogs, and two of them contradict themselves on the same page.

So the honest price of whitelisting is whatever the creator quotes you. That sounds like a non-answer, but it is useful, because it means the number is set by how you ask. A brand that names the platform, the permission type and the window before the shoot gets one line item. A brand that asks "can we boost this?" after the video is delivered gets a number invented on the spot, with the footage already in hand as leverage.

A disclosure before the tables. We sell a generator that writes creator briefs and ad scripts, including the usage and permission terms the creator quotes against. We do not sell creators, videos or whitelisting, so there is no row for us below.

How much do creators charge for whitelisting?

Here is what each platform says on its own pricing page or help center. The right-hand column is the one brands actually want, and it is nearly empty.

PlatformWhat it publishes for the video or planWhat it publishes for whitelisting, Spark Ads or Partnership Ads
BilloNo public rate card; the pricing page redirects to a loginNo price. Its partnership ads page says each creator sets their own price for posting and "an additional fee for allowing you to run ads from their handle". The fee appears in your order summary, and Billo requires a 30 day window
JoinBrandsPlans at $99, $299 and $499 a monthTikTok Spark Ads codes and Instagram Partnership Ads codes ticked as included on every plan. No separate fee listed
InsenseBrand from $500 a month, Agency from $800 a monthSpark Ads code sharing listed as a feature. Meta Partnership Ads connections capped per plan (Brand 10, Agency unlimited), with "additional 5 connections $125/month"
Influee$229, $529 and $999 a monthNo price. A 30 day Branded Content Ad Permission by default, plus content usage rights on every plan
TrendPackages from $550 to $3,872Not mentioned. The pricing page lists full licensing and distribution rights
CollabstrPro $249 and Premium $333 a month, billed annuallyNo price. The pricing page says to agree usage rights before payment
Social Cat$99, $199 and $299 a monthNo price. Its own benchmark post says to expect whitelisting "priced as an add-on per creator, per platform, per time window", with no dollar figure
Popular PaysNo pricing page of its own; the URL now serves its parent company's LTX Studio pricingNo price

Two of the eight make the permission part of the platform fee (JoinBrands, and Insense for Spark codes). One passes the price straight through from the creator (Billo). The other five leave it to you and the creator. If you are comparing these platforms on total cost, that is the line to ask about first, and the full plan comparison is in our UGC platform pricing comparison.

Do TikTok and Meta charge for Spark Ads or Partnership Ads?

Not on any help page we read. The platform cost of running a creator's post as an ad is your normal media spend. What TikTok and Meta do publish is the shape of the permission, which is exactly what a creator prices.

TikTok's Spark Ads help center describes publishing ads "using organic posts made by other creators (with their authorization)". Its Ads Manager guide lists the authorization windows a creator can grant: 7, 30, 60 or 365 days. TikTok even tells advertisers to customize the duration "to meet campaign needs and minimize costs", which is a fair hint that the window is what the creator charges for.

Meta renamed branded content ads to partnership ads, and its business help center says advertisers need permission from the partner whose handle appears, that partners "can revoke these permissions at any time", and that there are two types: content-level (one post, shared by code) and account-level, which Meta calls "more suitable for ongoing partnerships". We found no Meta page stating the permission is free, so we will not claim that. We found none that charges for it either.

The practical point: the window and the scope are already standardized by the platforms. You can write them into the brief as a choice from a short list instead of a vague request, and the background on how each mechanism works is in our guide to UGC whitelisting and Spark Ads.

Where does the "20 to 25 percent" whitelisting fee come from?

From creator-side pricing guides, and they do not agree with each other. We read each one to check the number was actually on the page, since search snippets attribute figures to pages that do not contain them.

SourceFigure on the pageMeterProblem
Influencer Marketing Hub (modified April 2026)20 to 25 percent of the creator's base ratePer 30 day flightIts summary also says a $10,000 fee "becomes $12,500 monthly", which does not match its own worked example
influencerfee.com, Spark Ads guide20 to 30 percent above the base video ratePer 60 day authorizationSays TikTok offers 24 hour and 60 day periods, which contradicts TikTok's help center (7, 30, 60 or 365 days)
influencerfee.com, whitelisting guide25 to 50 percent, and 50 to 100 percentPer post, then per 30 daysBoth ranges appear on the same page
Influee blog (April 2026)20 to 50 percent of the base rateNot statedA benchmark, not Influee's own price
Billo blog (June 2026)50 to 100 percent for whitelisting, 20 to 50 percent for paid ad rightsNot statedA benchmark, not Billo's own price
Popular Pays blog (July 2024)25 to 50 percentNot statedTwo years old

One more data point cuts the other way. Archive's January 2026 guide to launching Spark Ads lists "100%+ premium over base fee" as a red flag, not a benchmark. So a number one guide calls standard, another calls unrealistic.

The takeaway is not that creators are overcharging. It is that there is no market rate yet, only a range of opinions measured against different time windows. A 25 percent fee per 30 days and a 25 percent fee per 60 days are not the same price, and most quotes do not say which one they mean.

What does whitelisting cost on one UGC video?

Put every published figure on the same deliverable and the spread becomes concrete. Take a $200 creator video, a round number we are using for illustration, and a brand that wants to run it from the creator's handle for 90 days.

Benchmark appliedFee for 30 daysFee for 90 daysTotal with the $200 video
20 percent per 30 days (low end, Influencer Marketing Hub)$40$120$320
25 percent per 30 days$50$150$350
50 percent per 30 days (top of the Influee and Popular Pays ranges)$100$300$500
100 percent per 30 days (top of the Billo blog range)$200$600$800

The same permission on the same video prices at $120 to $600 for three months depending on which guide the creator read, a fivefold spread before anyone has negotiated. That is why the quote matters more than the benchmark, and why the time window has to be in writing. A creator quoting 25 percent "for Spark Ads" could mean $50 for 30 days or $50 for 60, and over a year that is $600 against $300.

If you are still sizing the video fee itself, the rate ranges by platform and creator tier are in UGC creator rates, and the same pattern (a widely repeated number, no platform price) shows up for extra openings in what UGC hook variations cost.

How do I get a whitelisting fee quoted before the shoot?

Write the permission into the brief, as a line item with five fields, before the creator agrees to the job. Every field is something the creator needs to price, and each one comes from a list the platforms already define.

FieldWhat to writeWhy the creator needs it
PlatformTikTok Spark Ads, Meta partnership ads, or bothTwo platforms can mean two fees
Permission typeTikTok authorization code, or Meta content-level or account-levelAccount-level on Meta covers future posts, not one video
Window7, 30, 60 or 365 days on TikTok; a date range on MetaPercentage fees are charged per window
Posts coveredWhich videos, and how many hook versionsFive hooks posted separately can be five permissions
Price formatA flat dollar figure per window, not a percentageRemoves the ambiguity in the table above

Ask for the permission to be quoted separately from the video. Then you can see whether whitelisting is worth it before you commit, and the creator is pricing a known scope rather than a vague "can we boost it". Our UGC usage rights page covers the ownership side that sits next to this, the right to run the footage from your own brand page.

The brief the generator at the top of this page writes already has a usage and permissions section, so you fill in those five fields once and every creator you approach quotes against the same terms. We write the brief. You hire the creator and agree the price with them directly.

Is whitelisting worth paying for?

When the creator's name does work the brand's name cannot, yes. When it does not, owning the footage and running it from your own page is usually enough.

Whitelisting earns its fee in three situations: the creator has an audience that trusts them in your category, so the handle itself is a reason to watch; you are testing cold audiences where a person's name converts better than an unknown brand; or you want the comments and social proof on the ad to accrue to a real person's post. It is harder to justify when the creator has a small following and was hired mainly to be on camera. In that case you are paying a monthly fee for a handle nobody recognizes, and the same video run from your brand page with full usage rights costs nothing extra per month.

A reasonable pattern is to buy the video with paid usage rights as standard, run it from your own account first, and pay for a 30 day permission only on the one or two videos that win. That caps the whitelisting spend at the ads that have already proved they sell. When a winner is ready to scale, some teams hand the campaign build and budget pacing to an AI media buyer rather than running it by hand, and the creator's post then becomes one more ad in the account.

Whichever route you take, the permission terms belong in the brief before the shoot, not in a follow-up message after delivery. For the placement specs the brief should also set, see UGC for Meta ads.

See how UGCMarketplace works for your kind of brand on the use cases page.

Generate a brief

Run this on your next campaign

Describe your product and the generator writes the UGC brief, the three-second hook, the scene-by-scene script and the creator persona to go and recruit, in about a minute.

Get your UGC brief and script written.

The objective, the audience, the hook, the timed scenes and the creator persona to recruit. Written by AI in about a minute, and the brief is yours to use.

first brief free, no account needed, yours to use, about a minute

Generate a brief